Hong Kong Prize 2024 Winners Announced

hongkong prize

The annual Hong Kong Science Prize is awarded to scientists who have demonstrated outstanding achievements in scientific research. The award ceremony will be held at the Hong Kong Science and Technology Park in Sha Tin on October 14. This year’s winners include scientists Gregory Winter from the University of Washington in the United States and Michael Levitt from the California Institute of Technology in the US. Other top performers include chemists from the University of Hong Kong Yuen Kwok-yung and the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The competition is open to residents of Southeast Asia, mainland China, and any other part of the world. Interested parties can visit the “World of Winners” splash page starting March 1 to enter.

Hong Kong artists are energetic centers of culture and creativity, reflecting their views on global change through various art forms. The Hong Kong Arts Practitioners’ Awards offer them recognition, support and encouragement in their creative work and projects; increased international visibility through top-tier media coverage; and opportunities for networking and collaboration with peers.

The 2024 Hong Kong Film Awards saw Nick Cheuk take home the best new director prize for his gripping melodrama Cold War, while Rachel Leung took the actress award for her portrayal of a scheming con artist in crime thriller Ten Years. The controversial drama about Hong Kong’s future was a local box office hit but was pulled after a short cinema run, with Beijing furious over its depiction of the semi-autonomous city as it tightens its grip on the region.

In the news media, copy editor Xi Tianqi won second runner-up in the Best Young Reporter category for her innovative article titled In the Green Fast Lane, which highlighted the city’s efforts to speed up the adoption of public and private electric vehicles. Photography team members Andy Chong Chun-pong and Edmond Tang Wing-on also earned merits in their respective categories, with the former’s photo titled Piggyback Paddling coming first runner-up and the latter’s Making Waves winning first merit.

The BOCHK Science and Technology Innovation Prize, which is sponsored by the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited, was established in 2022 to honour scientific researchers and teams with remarkable scientific achievement and technological innovation that are applied and transformed to benefit society. The prize serves as an inspiration for scientific researchers and entrepreneurs in Hong Kong to persevere in innovative exploration, establish themselves in Hong Kong, serve the nation and contribute to the world. Distinguished scholars and experts from both the Chinese mainland and overseas are invited to select the winners annually. The judging process includes a comprehensive and independent assessment of applicants’ scientific research and technological innovation achievements, their application and transformation, and the social or economic value they create. The BOCHK Science and Technology Innovation Prize will be presented at an award ceremony every year.